Anja Reviews "Fence" by CS Pacat and Johanna the Mad

“Fence” by CS Pacat and Johanna the Mad is an ongoing young adult graphic novel series perfect for fans of “Check Please!” and “Haikyu!!”


“Fence” follows Nicholas Cox, the illegitimate son of Olympic fencing legend Robert Coste, who is determined to prove himself by becoming the top fencer at Kings Row Academy. Only his plan is disrupted when he arrives at Kings Row to discover that his greatest fencing rival, Seiji Katayama, is his new roommate, and possibly his newest teammate. And on top of that, Nicholas will have to compete against a whole crew of established fencers to even make the Kings Row team, and if he doesn’t make the team, he will lose his fencing scholarship. “Fence” is an underdog story about Nicholas overcoming obstacles and self-doubt in pursuit of his fencing dreams.


This comic has all the drama and camp you could ever want from a sports story, complete with rivalries, romance, bromance and a healthy dose of competition. If you’re in need of a fun, lighthearted, un-put-downable story to distract you from reality, look no further. With its large cast of lovable, relatable, diverse characters, reading Fence feels like hanging out with old friends--or old teammates.


Along the way, you’ll meet lovable side characters including the playboy Aiden, the team captain Harvard and the sweet best friend Bobby. Each of the characters feels fully fleshed-out and have their own character arcs and challenges to face. If you’re looking for a comic that features fun, diverse characters, with special attention and care given to portraying queer characters and relationships, then “Fence” may be the next comic for you to pick up!


“Fence” has even inspired a series of spin-off novels written by Sarah Rees Brennan, so if you enjoy the comic, be sure to check those out as well!


36 views0 comments